[TRANS] K-Pop Wave vol. 3 December 2012

18 Dec

K-Pop Wave vol. 3 December 2012

TEEN TOP – Step to the Future!

Tell Us! TEEN TOP Q & A

RICKY

Birthday: February 27, 1995
Height: 172 cm
Interests: Watching movies, piano
Special skill: Acting

What’s your treasure?
My family.

What do you always have with you when you go out?
Bag, iPhone, lip balm, hand lotion, perfume.

If you were an animal, what animal would you be?
I might be a wolf, because it seems kind of cool.

If your type were an animal?
A kangaroo, because they’re lively and bouncy!

What has touched you recently?
When our fans have waited for our comeback. Also the times when they’ve helped us!

What have you dreamed recently?
Lately I close my eyes and then it’s morning, so I can’t remember…

What do you want to eat most right now?
Ddeokbokki (spicy rice cakes).

What do you want most right now?
Confidence.

What is the source of your power?
The people who are important to me.

NIEL

Birthday: August 16, 1994
Height: 177 cm
Interests: Music appreciation
Special skill: Soccer

What’s your treasure?
My family!!

What do you always have with you when you go out?
Wallet, perfume, underwear, socks.

If you were an animal, what animal would you be?
I look like a cat. (As for) my behaviour, it’s like a puppy? I have a little bit of aegyo… (laughs)

If your type were an animal?
A cute cat~!

What has touched you recently?
The chants of the fans who’ve come to see us at public broadcasts.

What have you dreamed recently?
When I open my eyes, it’s morning~

What do you want to eat most right now?
Snow crab.

What do you want most right now?
Ability!!

What is the source of your power?
The fans~!! And then, food?!

CHUNJI

Birthday: October 5, 1993
Height: 173 cm
Interests: Puzzles, reading
Special skill: Imitations

What’s your treasure?
Family.

What do you always have with you when you go out?
iPad, wallet, bag, perfume.

If you were an animal, what animal would you be?
A peacock? Because it’s somehow cool.

If your type were an animal?
A chameleon~. Because it has many sides to it!

What has touched you recently?
Hearing the fan chants when I was on the stage.

What have you dreamed recently?
I can’t remember.

What do you want to eat most right now?
Hormone (innards).

What do you want most right now?
More fans!

What is the source of your power?
Fans!

CHANGJO

Birthday: November 16, 1995
Height: 177 cm
Interests: Creating choreography, music appreciation
Special skill: Martial arts

What’s your treasure?
My family ^^

What do you always have with you when you go out?
Everything that’s in my bag. Perfume, wallet, accessories, etc.

If you were an animal, what animal would you be?
A bear. The reason for it is because of the fans…

If your type were an animal?
Puppy-Boo ♡ I want to do my utmost to adore and love it.

What has touched you recently?
A public broadcast~. It’s because many fans came to see us.

What have you dreamed recently?
I… don’t remember any dreams -.-

What do you want to eat most right now?
Steak.

What do you want most right now?
Power!

What is the source of your power?
My family~

C.A.P

Birthday: November 4, 1992
Height: 178 cm
Interests: Design, drawing pictures, working out
Special skill: Writing lyrics, rap-making

What’s your treasure?
My notebook.

What do you always have with you when you go out?
A (credit) card.

If you were an animal, what animal would you be?
A puppy.

If your type were an animal?
A wolf.

What has touched you recently?
“Poison” by Primary.

What have you dreamed recently?
Me lying down happily at home.

What do you want to eat most right now?
Rice.

What do you want most right now?
A dream.

What is the source of your power?
My mother.

L.JOE

Birthday: November 23, 1993
Height: 171 cm
Interests: Acting
Special skill: Piano, composition, English

What’s your treasure?
My family.

What do you always have with you when you go out?
MP3s.

If you were an animal, what animal would you be?
A baby chick.

If your type were an animal?
A puppy.

What has touched you recently?
Fans.

What have you dreamed recently?
I had a dream that I was singing.

What do you want to eat most right now?
Chicken.

What do you want most right now?
A bag.

What is the source of your power?
Angels.

“Our dream is to become a group that our fans can be proud of”

2012 turned out to be the year in which Teen Top made a significant breakthrough. Releasing a single album and two mini-albums one after the other in Korea and holding their first solo concerts in Japan, they made their mark spectacularly with the presence of top idols befitting their name “Teen Top.” As well as looking back on this year, they spoke to us about the coming year 2013 and their big dreams for the future.

» 2012 was very successful for you, wasn’t it. Were you very busy?

Ricky: We were busy, but to the same degree many fans gave us so much love that we were able to enjoy promoting. I was really happy.

Changjo: We ended up promoting a lot, but it was really fun. I want to keep on working hard from here on!

C.A.P: We were busy, but when I look back on it now I think I did my best to get it done.

» You also had fulfilling concert activities, didn’t you. What are your thoughts about the Zepp Tour concerts which took place in Osaka, Nagoya and Tokyo in June?

Ricky: I definitely won’t forget the Zepp tour. It was a show where Teen Top made a step up in our development. Next time I want to do a concert on a bigger stage in front of a large audience!

Niel: Since it was our first concert, I was very excited. Just Angels who love Teen Top all coming together, being able to enjoy the show with them, I was so happy. It was great that we could perform not only our title songs but our other recordings as well.

C.A.P: I felt tense about doing something which I hadn’t done before, but I had support because so many people came to see us. I think we made a big improvement.

L.Joe: I want to thank the Japanese fans. I’m truly happy that they greet us so warmly every time we come to Japan. I love you.

» Following this was the “K-Pop Collection in Okinawa” in October, for which many popular K-Pop artists came together for the big concert in Okinawa. What are your memories of this show?

Niel: I was really happy that we were able to perform as representatives of Korea. I think spreading the word about K-Pop even further with many senior and junior singers made it really meaningful.

Chunji: Being able to do our dance performance left a deep impression on me.

C.A.P: I myself still can’t believe that we stood on stage in a concert of that size.

L.Joe: I was happy that we were able to be on a stage in a concert where so many singers appeared. The Okinawan fans were reallly passionate!

» It seems that doing a live performance in front of your fans is the most fun.

Ricky: It’s the happiest thing for us as singers. It’s the best! The best, the best, the best!!

Niel: Yes. Doing a concert in front of fans is the most fun. But, singing and dancing on a regular stage is really fun too~~~

Changjo: Many fans being there in front of us makes me really really happy ♡

C.A.P: We know that they love us, so I feel the happiest.

L.Joe: Of course~ It’s the happiest moment.

» You tried your hand at various new things in 2012. (Of these new ventures) what were you satisfied with? On the other hand, what did you feel was lacking?

Niel: I was really happy that I acted for the first time since I debuted as a singer. It would be nice if I were to have many more opportunities to do acting.

Changjo: The Zepp tour~ It was really fun ^^. I want to do a tour in Korea soon, too.

C.A.P: Personally, I want to get better at rapping, so I’m working on that. But it’s still not very good, so I’m not satisfied. I’ll do my best!

L.Joe: In the music video for “To You,” I was able to express the emotion that I wanted to so I think that was really good~!

» So what is it that would you like to try doing in 2013? Firstly, as Teen Top.

Ricky: A concert! I want to show a new side of ourselves with a cool stage!

Chunji: I want to work hard so that Teen Top can become more well-known.

Changjo: In 2013, I want to do a Teen Top solo concert in Korea too~!

L.Joe: I want Teen Top to become known by more people. Many more!

» In the same way, what is it that you would like to try on a personal level?

Ricky: Because I’m interested in acting too, I’ll do my best if I get any offers!

Niel: I want to work harder on Teen Top’s activities and I want to try doing more acting as well.

Chunji: I want to learn to play the guitar!

Changjo: I want to try my hand in various areas such as variety and acting~

C.A.P: I want to try releasing a rap song I’ve made myself.

L.Joe: I want to enjoy (performing) our songs with more people.

» Recently, you’ve really become like grown-ups, haven’t you. What is it that made you realise “I’m an adult”?

Ricky: Hmm… When I look in the mirror, I feel like I’m becoming more and more grown-up. And I think I’ve also started to think more about myself and be more careful.

Niel: I’ve started to think about many kinds of things. Up until now rather than thinking, I’d react physically, but now I think before I act. But over-thinking is a problem, isn’t it? Ahahaha (laughs)

Chunji: When I look at my national ID card!

Changjo: When I look at the photos that fans have taken, I feel like I’ve become grown-up~

C.A.P: I still think I’m young and have a long way to go, so I’ve never thought I was an adult.

L.Joe: Maybe when I’m careful about money? My frugal mindset is getting stronger.

» Have you ever thought, “one day, I want to be a man who can do this, I want to be this kind of adult”?

Chunji: I want to become a person who can help those who are in need.

C.A.P: When I was in junior high school, I wanted to grow up right away. But recently, I’ve been thinking that even when I do become an adult, I want to become somebody who has a youthful heart forever.

L.Joe: A man who makes his family happy!

» Looking ahead to the future, what is your dream as Teen Top?

Ricky: I’d be happy if everybody were to greet us gladly and give us support, whichever country we might go to!

Chunji: Never failing to work hard, becoming a Teen Top that everybody can be proud of!

Changjo: Doing a tour not only in Korea, but overseas as well and spreading the word about K-Pop!

C.A.P: As a singer, I want to present myself in a way that’s cooler than I am now!

L.Joe: Go for number one♡

» Ten years from now, what kind of group do you think Teen Top will have become?

Changjo: I suppose we could become the masters of the house (laughs)

C.A.P: I’m curious too (laughs)

L.Joe: True artists!

» Among the other members, what is it about them that you think is great or that you would like to emulate?

Ricky: It’s not so much from which member, it’s more that I really want to learn everything by watching them. Song-writing, dance, singing, all of it!

Chunji: I want to emulate Changjo’s dancing talent.

C.A.P: I want to emulate all of the members’ joyful brightness.

L.Joe: Changjo. His dancing is really cool. It looks good even to me as another guy watching him.

» Please snitch about the other members’ true personalities. Weird happenings and such.

C.A.P: In the dorm, Ricky… It’s a secret (laughs)

L.Joe: The truth is, I’m… funny. Sometimes I’m a mood-maker too.

» You’ve gotten attention as fashion icons as well, but would you please tell us what is the main thing that you’re into in terms of your personal fashion?

Ricky: I pay attention to things like necklaces and hats.

C.A.P: I’m careful about putting together a look whose color matches my mood on that particular day.

L.Joe: Recently, I always wear sunglasses. It’s my must-have item!

» On the other hand, give us the behind-the-scenes on what you actually normally wear around the house.

Ricky: At home I wear really comfy things. That’s about it? I’ll leave the rest up to your imagination.

Niel: To tell the truth, I don’t wear clothing (laughs) I’m in my underwear.

Chunji: I wear pajamas when I’m at home.

Changjo: At home, it’s pajamas. Hip-hop style pajamas, or I don’t wear clothes ^^

C.A.P: At home it’s underwear only.

L.Joe: At home I wear comfortable short-sleeved t-shirts. And shorts! I often wear clothes with characters on them.

» Thank you for speaking with us today. In closing, please leave a message for Angels.

Ricky: Everybody, I love you!

Niel: Everyone, Teen Top is working hard right now to stand (on stage) before you looking good. Please give us a lot of support~ ^^ I’m always giving it my best!!

Chunji: We’ll come to Japan again having increased our skills and bring you a cool performance, so please wait just a little longer. Please love Teen Top a lot!!

Changjo: Please continue to love Teen Top~ And please look forward to our more mature look~!

C.A.P: Thank you for always loving us!

L.Joe: Thank you for waiting for us. I love you. Sorry for making you wait!

[translation by babyspaceangels@tumblr/momoironiel.com. Via fyteensontop@tumblr. Pls put the credit when you’re quoting]

Leave a Reply

